List of Approved Federal Universities in Nigeria (UPDATED). 

List of Approved Federal Universities in Nigeria(UPDATED). 

This list has been here so we wish to give it out to you as you wish. Below is the list of all the FEDERAL UNIVERSITIES in Nigeria that has been approved by the NUC board. These universities are capable of giving people qualifications that will be reasonable for his/her lifetime. This list was last updated by the National Universities Commission (NUC) on the 14th of January, 2019(last year).

The oldest federal university as recorded in Nigeria is the University of Ibadan, Ibadan (UI), it was established in 1948. Far back before independence. 

List of the Federal Universities in Nigeria.

This is the updated list of federal universities in Nigeria and their year of establishment in the country.

  1. University of Ibadan, Ibadan (UI)in the year1948
  2. The University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)in the year 1960
  3. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU) in the year 1962
  4. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (ABU) in the year 1962
  5. The University of Lagos, Lagos (UNILAG) in the year 1962
  6. The University of Benin, Benin City (UNIBEN)in the year 1970
  7. Bayero University, Kano (BUK) in the year 1975
  8. The University of Calabar, Calabar (UNICAL) in the year 1975
  9. The University of Ilorin, Ilorin (UNILORIN)in the year 1975
  10. The University of Jos, Jos (UNIJOS)in the year 1975
  11. The University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri (UNIMAID)in the year 1975
  12. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto (UDUSOK)in the year 1975
  13. The University of Port-Harcourt, Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)in the year 1975
  14. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)in the year 1980
  15. Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA)in the year 1981
  16. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTECH)in the year 1981
  17. Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA)in the year 1982
  18. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna (NDA)in the year 1985
  19. University of Abuja, Abuja (UNIABUJA)in the year 1988
  20. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi (ATBU)in the year 1988
  21. University of Agriculture, Makurdi (UAM)in the year 1988
  22. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)in the year 1988
  23. University of Uyo, Uyo (UNIUYO)in the year 1991
  24. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK)in the year 1992
  25. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU)in the year 1992
  26. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos (NOUN)in the year 2002
  27. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE)in the year 2007
  28. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State (FULOKOJA)in the year  2011
  29. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA)in the year  2011
  30. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State (FUKASHERE)in the year  2011
  31. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI)in the year 2011
  32. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State (FUDMA)in the year  2011
  33. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State (FUD)in the year 2011
  34. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI) now called Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike Ikwo (AE-FUNAI)in the year 2011
  35. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State (FUOYE)in the year  2011
  36. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE)in the year  2011
  37. The Nigeria Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State (NPA)in the year  2012
  38. Federal University, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi (FUBK)in the year  2013
  39. Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara (FUGUS)in the year 2013
  40. Federal University, Gashua, Yobe (FUGASHUA)in the year  2013
  41. Nigeria Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State in the year 2018
  42. Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna in the year 2018
  43. Nigerian Army University, Biu (NAUB) in the year  2018

All these are the accredited list of the Nigerian Federal Universities. To know more about each of the institution visit. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: